Collection: DUAL Series

In a context where biodiversity is being weakened by human activities, we have chosen a constructive approach. Instead of blaming or trying to outrage the population, we praise biodiversity by evoking life forms. We do this in an æsthetic and romantic way. The objective we covet, through this social and artistic action, is to anchor a deep awareness in the hearts of visitors. In a way, we want to enlist the population in a duty (conscious or unconscious) to protect biodiversity.

The pleasures of fishing in a sea full of fish, eating pollution-free snow and watching the cosmos in a dark sky are disappearing. The path of restoration can be gentle and pleasant for the soul of our civilization. Like a child who wants to help and protect an insect, let us find this sensitivity in our adult heart.

A PHYLOGENETIC APPROACH


Phylogenetics is the study of the tree of life. Its mission is to understand the totality of the genetic connections with the entire planetary biodiversity. The history of life on Earth begins at least 3.5 billion years ago and extends into our contemporary era. Our approach is therefore global and ambitious, because all forms of life are taken into account: whether bacteria, algae, fungi, mammals, birds, trees.

The study of this science has brought to light a new transdisciplinary approach using the juxtaposition of photography, oil painting and mathematical art in our creative process.

WHY DUAL?


This series is rocked by the polymorphism of duality. First of all, it was born from the collaboration between an artist-mathematician and an artist-plastician; both are also scientists. They both explore the infinitely large and the infinitely small. One works as much with algebra as he does with geometry. The other discovers that his intuitive gestures and movements are intrinsically fractal. They both associate emotion and æstheticism as well as movement and static.

Just as in the phylogenetic tree, the evolutionary and creative force of chaos is a driving force in their art. The distinction between figuration and abstraction is blurring: we aim at subjective evocation. The rational and the emotional are also intertwined.

The DUAL Series is created and developed by Etienne Saint-Amant and Éric Dupont.

Éric Dupont et Etienne Saint-Amant

3 products
  • DUAL — GLACIARIUM
    Regular price
    13,800.00 $
    Sale price
    13,800.00 $
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • DUAL — ACTINIARIA
    Regular price
    8,600.00 $
    Sale price
    8,600.00 $
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • DUAL — ASCLEPIAS
    Regular price
    10,800.00 $
    Sale price
    10,800.00 $
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
eng
eng

Collection: Série DUALE

Dans un contexte de fragilisation de la biodiversité due aux activités humaines, nous avons choisi une approche constructive. Au lieu de blâmer ou tenter d’indigner la population, nous faisons l’éloge de la biodiversité par une évocation des formes de vie. Nous le faisons de façon esthétique et romantique. L’objectif que nous convoitons, par cette action sociale et artistique, est d’ancrer une sensibilisation profonde dans le cœur des visiteurs. Nous voulons en quelque sorte enrôler la population dans un devoir (conscient ou inconscient) de protection de la biodiversité.

Les plaisirs que sont de pêcher dans une mer poissonneuse, de manger de la neige exempte de pollution et de regarder le cosmos dans un ciel obscur disparaissent. Le chemin de restauration peut être doux et agréable pour l’âme de notre civilisation. À l’instar de l’enfant qui veut aider et protéger un insecte, retrouvons cette sensibilité dans notre cœur d’adulte.

UNE APPROCHE PHYLOGÉNÉTIQUE

La phylogénétique est l’étude de l’arbre de la vie. Sa mission est de comprendre la totalité des connexions génétiques avec l’ensemble de la biodiversité planétaire. L’histoire de la vie sur Terre débute il y a au moins 3,5 milliards d’années et s’étend à notre ère contemporaine. Notre approche se veut donc globale et ambitieuse, car toutes les formes de vie sont prises en compte : que ce soient bactéries, algues, champignons, mammifères, oiseaux, arbres.

L’étude de cette science a permis de mettre en lumière une nouvelle démarche transdisciplinaire utilisant la juxtaposition de la photographie, de la peinture à l’huile et de l’art mathématique dans notre processus créatif.

POURQUOI DUALE ?

Cette série est bercée par le polymorphisme de la dualité. D’abord, elle est née de la collaboration entre un artiste-mathématicien et un artiste-plasticien; les deux sont aussi des scientifiques. Ils explorent tous deux l’infiniment grand et l’infiniment petit. L’un travaille autant avec l’algèbre que la géométrie. L’autre découvre que ses gestes et mouvements intuitifs sont intrinsèquement fractals. Ils associent tous deux émotion et esthétisme ainsi que le mouvement et le statisme.

Tout comme dans l’arbre phylogénétique, la force évolutive et créatrice du chaos est un moteur dans leur art. La distinction entre la figuration et l’abstraction s’estompe : nous visons l’évocation subjective. Le rationnel et l’émotionnel s’entrelacent aussi.

La série DUALE est créée et développée par Etienne Saint-Amant et Éric Dupont.

Éric Dupont et Etienne Saint-Amant

3 produits
  • DUALE — GLACIARIUM
    Prix normal
    13,800.00 $
    Prix réduit
    13,800.00 $
    Prix normal
    Prix unitaire
    par 
    Épuisé
  • DUALE — ACTINIARIA
    Prix normal
    8,600.00 $
    Prix réduit
    8,600.00 $
    Prix normal
    Prix unitaire
    par 
    Épuisé
  • DUALE — ASCLEPIAS
    Prix normal
    10,800.00 $
    Prix réduit
    10,800.00 $
    Prix normal
    Prix unitaire
    par 
    Épuisé
fr
fr